Independent reviews. We may earn a commission from partner links.How we make money
Rreviewlake.in

Original Research

The Contractor Software Pricing Index

We independently researched real pricing for 19 quote-only trade software platforms across 11 industries - the ones that don't publish a rate card. Here's what we found, and the patterns that show up once you put them side by side.

Last updated 2026-08-30

19

quote-only platforms researched, none of which publish a standard rate card

9 of 19

have a documented pricing quirk - multi-year contracts, à la carte add-ons, or an advertised rate that understates real cost

100x+

spread between the cheapest entry point ($12/user/mo) and the most expensive (Procore's $100,000+/year)

What we found

Multi-year contracts cluster around hardware-bundled products

2 of 19 products in this index carry a reported multi-year minimum contract - Samsara (36 months) and ServiceTitan (12 months, often pushed to 2-3 years). Both bundle physical hardware (GPS trackers, dash cams, dispatch iPads) into the subscription, which is the likely driver: a longer contract is how a vendor recovers hardware cost without charging it upfront. Pure-software products in this index carry no such pattern in our research.

The advertised rate can understate real cost by 4x

AppFolio's clearest example: a $1.40/unit/month headline rate sounds affordable, but a $280-400/month minimum applies regardless of unit count. At exactly 50 units - AppFolio's own stated minimum portfolio size - the effective rate is $5.60-5.96/unit/month, roughly 4x the advertised number. The lesson generalizes: any per-unit or per-seat rate paired with a monthly minimum should be checked at your actual size before you compare it to a competitor's headline number.

"À la carte" add-ons are common enough to budget for by default

4 of 19 products in this index have a documented pattern of billing genuinely useful features - route optimization, AI tools, inspection modules, API access - separately from the base subscription. PestPac's termite inspection module, Filevine's Lead Docket and DemandsAI, BuildOps's all-users-billed model, and Real Green's modular add-ons all follow this shape. Assume the quoted base tier doesn't include everything you'll actually need, and ask for a full line-item breakdown before comparing two quotes.

Sometimes even the pricing model itself is disputed

mHelpDesk was the one case in our research where independent sources didn't just disagree on the number - they disagreed on the pricing model itself. Some sources describe flat, unlimited-user tiers; others describe strict per-seat pricing. That kind of disagreement is itself useful information: it means the pricing structure isn't well-established publicly, so asking "is this per-user or flat-rate?" as your first question on a sales call isn't a naive question - it's a necessary one.

Full pricing index

Every row links to that product's own dedicated pricing page, with full sourcing and a checked date. Ranges are compiled from multiple independent sources, not a single quote.

ProductIndustryReported rangePricing modelContractSegmentFlag
ProcoreReview →Construction$15,000-$100,000+/yrAnnual Construction Volume (ACV)Not specifiedEnterprise
RakenReview →Construction$12-93/user/moPer-user, tieredNot specifiedMid-size
BuildOpsReview →Construction Subcontractor$40-165+/user/moPer-user, all users billedNot specifiedEnterpriseà la carte
ServiceTitanReview →HVAC & Electrical$200-500/technician/moPer-technician12mo-3yrEnterprisemulti-year contract
FieldEdgeReview →HVAC & Electrical$100-125/seat/moPer-seat (office vs. tech)Not specifiedMid-size
mHelpDeskReview →HVAC$169-533/moDisputed - sources disagreeNot specifiedMid-sizedisputed model
AspireReview →Landscaping$300-800/moSingle license, unlimited usersNot specifiedEnterprise
Real GreenReview →Landscaping$199-600+/moModular add-onsNot specifiedEnterpriseà la carte
SamsaraReview →Trucking$27-60/vehicle/moPer-vehicle, hardware bundled36moEnterprisemulti-year contract
GeotabReview →Trucking$20-45/vehicle/moPer-vehicle, reseller-onlyNot specifiedEnterprise
McLeod SoftwareReview →TruckingCustom quoteEnterprise TMSNot specifiedEnterprise
AppFolioReview →HOA & Property Maintenance$1.40-3/unit/mo + $280-400/mo minPer-unit with monthly floorNot specifiedEnterpriseadvertised-rate gap
FilevineReview →Legal Practice$49-150+/user/moPer-user + AI add-onsNot specifiedEnterpriseà la carte
PestPacReview →Pest Control$200-1,000+/moTiered + add-on modulesNot specifiedEnterpriseà la carte
CornerstoneReview →Veterinary$420-549/moOn-premise, seat-basedNot specifiedEnterprise
LEAPReview →Legal Practice~$149/user/moPer-user, hybrid deploymentSome report long-term termsMid-size
Covetrus PulseReview →Veterinary$99-169/moCustom quoteNot specifiedMid-size
VantacaReview →HOA Management8-12x budget platformsCustom quote, annual contractAnnual, reportedEnterprise
FieldRoutesReview →Pest Control$199-350/moDisputed - see FAQNot specifiedMid-sizedisputed model

How we built this index

Every product here does not publish standard pricing on its own website - confirmed individually for each one, not assumed. Every figure comes from multiple independent third-party sources (industry publications, review-aggregator sites, and user-reported real costs), cross-checked against each other for consistency. Where sources materially disagreed - on mHelpDesk's pricing model, or Cornerstone's exact monthly figure - we presented the disagreement itself rather than picking one number and hiding the uncertainty.

We did not use one product's figures to estimate another's, and we did not invent a number where research came up empty (two products we considered including were dropped from this index entirely because the available third-party data was too unreliable to publish responsibly). Full sourcing for every figure is on that product's own dedicated pricing page, linked from the table above.

Read our full research methodology →

Frequently asked questions

Why doesn't quote-only software just publish its pricing?

Vendors we researched don't say publicly, but the pattern across our research is consistent: quote-only pricing tends to appear on products where cost varies enormously by company size, usage volume, or hardware bundling, and where sales teams use the quote process to qualify and negotiate rather than compete purely on a published rate card.

Is quote-only pricing always more expensive than published pricing?

Not necessarily, but it's harder to compare upfront by design - that's the real cost, not just the dollar figure. Several of the products in this index (Raken, FieldEdge) have per-seat rates lower than some published-pricing competitors once you get a real number. The problem is you can't know that without going through a sales conversation first.

How current is this data?

Every figure links to a dedicated pricing page with its own sourcing and a checked date. Quote-only pricing changes without much public notice, so treat every number here as directional, not a quote - always confirm current rates directly with the vendor before budgeting.

Where does this data come from?

Every figure is compiled from multiple independent third-party sources (industry publications, review-aggregator sites, user-reported costs) for each specific product, cross-checked for consistency, and cited on that product's own pricing page. We do not use each other's numbers or invent figures - see our methodology page for the full standard.

Explore individual pricing guides